White goat 1

I was rather torn between doing the Jacob ram with his four horns, or one of the cockerels, or one of the goats next. I decided on the white goat.

White goat 1 linocut drawing © Janet E Davis

White goat 1 linocut drawing © Janet E Davis

I am not at all sure that I know how this one will work, but I’ve started with a border line. It’s as good a place as any to start. I was a bit surprised that the drawing of the goat started to look rather like a goat quite quickly.

Update 1

I foolishly rushed to start cutting it – at night, with inadequate lighting – and cut more than I should have in one area. I carried on cutting for a while as I considered if I could possibly rescue it.

White goat 1 linocut rubbingWhite goat 1 linocut rubbing

I tried a rubbing of it to get a better idea of whether cutting away more of the horns could work. For a while, I considered trying to make it work, and continued to work on it.

White goat 1 linocut detail

White goat 1 linocut detail

A further rubbing of the linocut made me think that it was time to give up and start again.

White goat 1 linocut rubbing

White goat 1 linocut rubbing

It was not so easy drawing the goat the second time on a fresh piece of lino.

White goat 1a linocut drawing

White goat 1a linocut drawing

I had another look at the first linocut and did a little more to it.

White goat 1 linocut rubbing 3

White goat 1 linocut rubbing 3

I remained undecided whether it is going to work if I cut away more. Whilst thinking about it, I carried on with version 1a – with which I also was not satisfied.

White goat 1a linocut rubbing 3

White goat 1a linocut rubbing 3

Then I continued to cut away a little more on the first one.

White goat 1 linocut penultimate rubbing 2

White goat 1 linocut penultimate rubbing 2

White goat 1 linocut final

White goat 1 linocut final

White goat 1 linocut final rubbing 2

White goat 1 linocut final rubbing 2

I returned to the second version, decided to cut away the background, and may have cut away too much in some areas. This may be the penultimate version.

White goat 1a linocut penultimate version

White goat 1a linocut penultimate version

White goat 1a linocut penultimate rubbing 1

White goat 1a linocut penultimate rubbing 1

I may cut off a tiny amount before I print…just a very tiny amount…

A few days later…

I have printed both and remain undecided about which is The Print.

Perhaps if I just cut into the darker area on 1, it might work ok…. Comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

