Hadrian’s Wall landscapes

I rediscovered a couple of watercolours I did some years ago of two of my favourite places along Hadrian’s Wall: the Mithraeum close to the fort at Carrawburgh, and Housesteads fort. For years, I was part of the team at English Heritage that managed these sites so I have memories attached to them as well as being interested in the history and archaeology, and loving the aesthetics of these views of Northumberland. It is an area that I have painted, drawn and photographed over many years because it continues to fascinates me.

Janet E Davis, Mithraeum at Carrawburgh, watercolour on paper, 1998-99

Janet E Davis, Mithraeum at Carrawburgh, watercolour on paper, 1998-99

Janet E Davis, Sheep below Housesteads, watercolour on paper, 1998-99.

Janet E Davis, Sheep below Housesteads, watercolour on paper, 1998-99.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Hadrian’s Wall landscapes

  1. raehering

    Beautiful paintings! It really gives me a feel for this area that you love so much! I’d like to share with you a song I wrote about finding oneself through painting called “Watercolor.” http://wp.me/p3mOze-m.

    Reply
    1. janetedavisart Post author

      Thanks, Ross! I’m really glad you like it. I’ve spent many hours there and in that area, in all weathers except snow, and I’ve always tried talking to the sheep.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Blue lights and learning, landscapes and inspiring | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

