Pulmonaria in jar against yellow

Jar of pulmonaria, oils on canvas board, 1996. © Janet E Davis

Jar of pulmonaria, oils on canvas board, 1996. © Janet E Davis

I rediscovered this little painting last week. I am guessing a bit at the date. Since it shows a light background, I think it was probably painted in the late 1990s when I had somewhere lighter to paint, and had pulmonaria in the garden. It is one of my favourite plants.

I think that I was dissatisfied with this painting at the time, but looking at it again, I rather like it, especially the way the leaves feel as if they’re a bit curved and very much shoved unceremoniously into the little jar made from thick, greenish, recycled glass. If I ever find the jar again, I might be tempted to paint some other small flowers in it. I have always wanted to paint a Welsh poppy or three. I have tried looking in the shops for a similar jar but I haven’t seen such a range recently.

Leave a Reply

