Hatton Gallery drawing session 1

Janet E Davis, Drawing after Dale Atkinson's Queer Fish painting exhibited in the Hatton Gallery on 30th September 2013.

Drawing after Dale Atkinson’s Queer Fish painting exhibited in the Hatton Gallery on 30th September 2013.

I thought that it might help kickstart me back into drawing (and then to painting) if I attended the free Hatton Gallery art classes for adults – and that it would be nice to draw in the company of others. I was surprised to see how many people were there, and glad to see a range of ages.

The tutor went through the basics of drawing a figure and a head, and got us to measure the height of a figure in a photocopied black and white photograph of a painting, and then to draw a figure from one of the paintings in the exhibition around us, or from a photocopy of another work from the permanent collection.

I chose the figures in this painting because they are not straightforward; because there is a relationship, a dynamic between the figures that I wanted to explore; and because I have attended life classes in the past led by the artist, Dale Atkinson. I didn’t finish it because there wasn’t enough time, but I rather like the texture of the unfinished sketch. The original painting, Queer Fish, can be seen on the Your Paintings website.

Leave a Reply

