Follow up to Hatton Gallery drawing session 3

Janet E Davis, North Pennines 2, coloured pencils on paper.

Janet E Davis, North Pennines 2, coloured pencils on paper.

This drawing is A3 size. There is a slight pinkish cast in the centre of the photo and more saturated green at the top and bottom due to my iPhone’s sense of colour being wonky, but the colours are reasonably accurate otherwise.

I thought I would try this view in coloured pencils. I found myself becoming very frustrated because the colours are neither dark enough in tone nor sufficiently saturated in hue. I have drawn little in coloured pencils and rarely used them without other media, such as watercolour or gouache. Maybe it’s a matter of being very patient and building up layers gradually, or possibly that the paper is too smooth.

I have abandoned this for now since I find it unsatisfactory. I don’t want to do too controlled a drawing of this view because it simply doesn’t work with the type of landscape.

I’m working up to trying to do watercolours again…

2 thoughts on “Follow up to Hatton Gallery drawing session 3

  1. Pingback: Follow up to Hatton Gallery drawing session 3 | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: Trojan horses, writing ghosts, and aiming for the Moon | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

