Hatton Gallery drawing session 5

If you have been reading this as a series, the lack of drawing session 4 is because I missed that one. It was lovely to arrive at session 5 to find people greeting me warmly with big smiles, and the Jerwood Drawing Prize 2013 exhibition. I had a quick look at half the exhibition before we started and found it very inspiring, with such varied subjects and approaches to drawing. I wanted to try at least half of the techniques or subjects. It made me want to try drawing on very large pieces of paper. I’m not even sure if I could pick up a big roll of paper, and I couldn’t afford to buy one at present.

This session focused on drawing in pastels. As usual, Hazel the tutor gave a demonstration of the techniques that people could try with the materials – soft pastels and oil pastels. We could then draw a fruit still life that she had set out on each table, or from copies of paintings in the Hatton’s collection, or interpret one of the monochrome drawings in the exhibition in colour.

Janet E Davis, Still life of an orange and 2 apples, pastels on paper, December 2013.

Janet E Davis, Still life of an orange and 2 apples, pastels on paper, December 2013.

I chose to tackle the still life first and tried to keep the colours clean. The soft pastels almost slid off the smooth paper if I breathed out too close to it. Eventually, I decided to leave it before it started to get ‘muddy’ and to quickly try a corner of a bright painting (or, at least, a photocopy of a photograph of a painting).

Janet E Davis, Detail after a painting from the Hatton Gallery's collection, pastel on paper, December 2013.

Janet E Davis, Detail after a painting from the Hatton Gallery’s collection, pastel on paper, December 2013.

I thoroughly enjoyed the session. The people with whom I shared a table were lovely and thoughtful, and one older lady was particularly funny.

It was a little disappointing to realise that the next class is weeks away because of the break for Christmas and the New Year but I hope I can get to it because I’m really looking forward to it. I am also very keen to see more of the Jerwood Drawing Prize show.

One thought on “Hatton Gallery drawing session 5

  1. Pingback: A Bedlington Terrier, how to tell tales, and ethical issues | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

