Half a kiwi and a halved fig

9th March – the start

After all the pattern in the last still life, I thought that I would try a less elaborately patterned composition. I found myself picking up a scarf that I have only worn a couple of times, so the colouring will be a lot quieter in this painting. I think it could be too subdued for what I want to do at present.

As I’ve started to block in the colour, I’ve thought it looked too harmonious. The colours are not quite accurate because I took the photo at night and it was a little too dark.

Janet E Davis, Half a kiwi and a fig halved, stage 1, tinted charcoal and acrylics on canvas, March 2014.

Janet E Davis, Half a kiwi and a fig halved, stage 1, tinted charcoal and acrylics on canvas, March 2014.

14th March – still uncertain

I’ve been unable to blog at each stage this week, partly due to WordPress being out of action from Tuesday to Thursday, and partly due to being busy when not painting.

The palette, or range of colours, that I’m using in this painting seem strange to me, as if I am painting with someone else’s palette. I am unsure whether it is working but I rather like that I feel a bit uncomfortable with it. I want to cross my own boundaries, and one of the things that makes me uneasy about this painting is still the relative subtlety of the colours.

Painting this one has been a bit slower than I would have liked, so I’d better pause blogging and try to finish the picture…

Some hours later…

Most areas have had another layer. I was listening mostly to Arctic Monkeys, Stereophonics, David Bowie, Iggy Pop, The Killers and Razorlight. There is a bit more to do but I think it might be quite close to being finished by the second picture below.

March 19th

I’ve been fiddling around with the painting for an hour or so over most of the last 4 days, refining lines, and adding layers to the more translucent areas. I think I’ve finished this one, unless when it dries the plate’s background colour looks too patchy.

Janet E Davis, Half a kiwi and a fig halved - stage 6, acrylics on canvas, March 2014.

Janet E Davis, Half a kiwi and a fig halved – stage 6, acrylics on canvas, March 2014.

I’m still not sure that I like this one. It doesn’t feel like a combination of colours that are ‘mine’ but it probably expresses quite well how I was feeling about things whilst I was painting it.

One thought on “Half a kiwi and a halved fig

  1. Pingback: Frank Sidebottom, 150 Swedish tax inspectors and some physio | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

