5 daffodils and a piggy bank

13th April Starting

I was unable to finish off the pink anemones painting due to being unable to get some replacement anemones. The daffodils I had got for the next painting hadn’t opened – and will probably have wilted and withered by the time I get as far as painting – but I thought I would try to get most of the drawing done, allowing for needing to change the flowers.

Janet E Davis, 5 daffodils and a piggy bank stage 1, tinted charcoal on canvas, April 2014.

Janet E Davis, 5 daffodils and a piggy bank stage 1, tinted charcoal on canvas, April 2014.

The piggy bank is one I have had since I was about 5 years old, I think. It is decorated with handpainted flowers. I hadn’t intended to paint this one against the recycled sari scarf, but the eggy shapes seemed to be the right style to go with the piggy bank. Now I need to think about what colour I’m using for the lines this time.

17th April

I couldn’t work on this yesterday due to my shoulder playing up. I’m very unsure about the colours and how fiddly this one will be. The lines are in fluorescent red and possibly blend in with the orange too much, although the photographs don’t capture the fluorescent red well. The camera is a very cheap and basic compact that doesn’t cope well with strong light, shade or gradations of colour.

23rd April

Progress has been slow.

3rd May

Progress has remained slow due to a mixture of being busy with other things, and shoulder and hand joints continuing to play up. Finally, I had a day that I could spend concentrating on it.

I am not sure it works but it is nearly finished. I’m wondering if I need to go over the large areas of orange again. The paint is a bit uneven but this might not be a bad thing since I don’t want the paint to be too flat. The fluorescent red lines need going over a third time. What is not obvious is that the green on the scarf is mixed with fluorescent blue. I resisted the temptation to put fluorescent yellow on the daffodil petals.

4th May – finished

A few more hours, spent going over the large areas of orange and all the fluorescent red lines, and I got to the point at which it looked finished to me. The colours in the photograph are not quite accurate and the daffodils have become a little blurred in the process of uploading to WordPress. The blue on the corners is a little deeper and the large areas of orange are about the same tone and hue.

Janet E Davis, 5 daffodils and a piggy bank, acrylics on canvas, May 2014.

Janet E Davis, 5 daffodils and a piggy bank, acrylics on canvas, May 2014.

I’m wondering what to paint next (I still have a little to finish on the 3 pink anemones as I write this, but am having problems finding more anemones). The piggy bank will probably appear in another painting but I think I have painted this scarf enough for the time being.

I am very tempted to try a still life using more obvious, larger areas of fluorescent paint. I need more scarves – or other interesting printed fabric, and objects… Do you have any suggestions about what to put in the next still life?

Leave a Reply

