Ouseburn Community Art project week 3

We watched an Ouseburn Trust video about Ouseburn which contained a lot of interesting information.

I found a photocopy of an old Maling pottery catalogue, showing jug and bowl sets, so traced one of those and traced it onto card.

When it came to the printing, I decided to try printing first some names of plants that grow in the valley. I couldn’t remember which way round the word needed to go, although I did remember how to get the letters the right way. Printing the letters was the best way to check if I had got it right.

Nawor (letters printed on paper).

Nawor

I hadn’t. I adjusted the order of the letters and tried again.

Rowan

Rowan

The second time was correct, and then I got the second word – yarrow – the right way round before printing.

Four pieces of paper printed, two with 'rowan' and two with 'yarrow.'

Four pieces of paper printed, two with ‘rowan’ and two with ‘yarrow.’

Then I just had time to try printing the jug and bowl as the clear up started. The ink was a little too dry and there was no time to try a second time with more ink in this session.

Maling jug and bowl 1

Maling jug and bowl 1 – printing plate (card) and print below it.

We miss a Friday because it will be Good Friday. I will be continuing my research into images.

 

Leave a Reply

