Drypoint life studies

These plates are quite a bit bigger than anything I’ve done before. The paper is 56 x 31 cms for the male life study, 26.5 x 44.5 cms for the female study. I based them on a couple of fairly quick life studies (about 15 – 20 minutes each) I did about 5 years ago. The male life model did move during a pose & I was trying to capture that rather than compensate for it.

First print of female life study.

First print of female life study.

Male life study plate on the press.

Male life study plate on the press.

I tried printing on dry Japanese Kozo paper but hardly any ink was picked up. I wet the paper and quickly blotted it, and it picked up the ink second time through the press.

Male life study on Japanese Kozo paper.

Male life study on Japanese Kozo paper.

The other paper I used was Somerset Velvet Buff which was soaked and picked up the ink beautifully, as always. The black ink was mixed with extender to soften it a bit.

Female life study printed on Somerset Velvet Buff, after a bit more work to the plate.

Female life study printed on Somerset Velvet Buff, after a bit more work to the plate.

Male life study on Somerset Velvet Buff paper.

Male life study on Somerset Velvet Buff paper.

I will have a think about what to try next with these (I don’t think I’ll print the female one again – doesn’t quite work), and probably make another plate or two. I’m wondering whether to try some monoprinting with the life study plates. I should be back in the studio on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

