The Adventure week 2 – starting to think images

We didn’t have any workshops in week 2 of the Fifth Size Book Adventure so I took the opportunity offered to go on a trip to North Yorkshire, which happened to coincide nicely with thinking about the book that I’d had a quick look at during the last half hour of access to the fifth size books during launch week: Geological Survey of North Yorkshire. It seems to be a bound collection of geological survey maps of North Yorkshire, dating to the late 19th and very early 20th century. I printed out a few  parts of maps relating to the area I was visiting and took them with me.

I was staying in Harrogate, going back and forth through Knareborough quite a lot, and went on day trips to Skipton (pausing but not stopping at Bolton Abbey on the way back), Helmsley (via Thirsk), Ripon, Pickering, Hutton-Le-Hole and Goathland.

Although there was no time to sit and sketch, I had the luxury of someone else driving so was able to snap some landscape as we were passing through.

 

 

At the end of the few days, I thought that I needed to go back to do some drawing en plein air (outdoors), but had little idea still of how I could use the landscape and the geological survey in an artwork.

More thinking required…

The Fifth Size Book Adventure: A Professional Development Programme for Creative Practitioners is led by Jane Shaw of People Into Enterprise, and supported by Newcastle City Library and Arts Council for England.

Leave a Reply

