Introduction to bookbinding kit.

Covering matters


I tried out some pattern ideas by drawing with a matte white pen on painted paper (a few years ago, I’d started to use up my end of painting day acrylic paint on paper suitable for paint so had quite a few suitable for soft covers).


My original intention for covers had been to reuse prints that weren’t quite good enough to sell as part of an edition or had been experimental prints that I no longer felt I needed (some were made when practising a new technique). I used those printed on thicker paper as soft covers for pamphlet or stab stitch books, and have tried sticking those printed on kozo to a thicker paper for soft covers or board for hard covers.

I started trying to design some patterns to print. I realised this needed a lot of thinking about the size of pattern I needed for what size and type of book cover. I have got as far as developing an image, based on a linocut I did a few years ago, for a cover with a spine.

Image for printing in white on black bookcloth, based on a lino print.

After spending quite a lot of time measuring out grids, I haven’t got very far with sketching out ideas for repeat patterns, although I have a list of possible themes in my head. I want to do some patterns based on plants, some on marine life, and a series based on the Ouseburn Valley, Newcastle upon Tyne. Perhaps I just need to concentrate on drawing just patterns for a week, with enough audiobooks, music and coffee? Perhaps I need to work on larger pieces of paper?

Activities supported by a bursary from a-n The Artists Information Company.

Leave a comment